PRISONERS OF THE CURRICULUM

Let me engage you for a moment,
What is your purpose in this life?!
Who are you?! Or rather whom do you ought to be?!

We all have gone to school,
For it is a system that influenced our choices, determined the wrong from right and made us slaves of numbers and alphabets.
You think I am lying, open your dictionary, check the meaning of school..

1. any institution at which instruction is given in a particular discipline.

But not all is negative about it. The second meaning states

2. a group of people, particularly writers, artists, or philosophers, sharing the same or similar ideas, methods, or style.

We all went through the moments when you wake up, go to school, sit on a desk with the rest, be taught for the rest of the day, raise your hand for questions and answers, later wait for a test
Examination which determined your grades, friends and your future
A was no longer and alphabet but a grade, 1 was not a number but a position

School never taught me of my talent that could earn my future, school only taught me to succeed I must be a doctor,an engineer, a pilot or a lawyer
School, why didn’t you tell me that a poet, singer or a sports person can earn more than a lawyer or pilot
My purpose was determined by you who taught me,
You who didn’t let me discover my purpose in life
If only you taught less of the curriculum, rules and regulations then I wouldn’t have divorced you when I met Talent

Words are now my lantern of hope, thanks to you though, you did come in handy
But let my kids not be imprisoned to the same system, a four walled room chained to their desks,let them value you and their God given abilities
For their purpose is more than just years in school; sometimes the system needs to be broken.

4 thoughts on “PRISONERS OF THE CURRICULUM”

Leave a comment